-[Social Media Management]-

Step 1: Use a social media management tool to incorporate to your own Twitter account

Personally, I used TweetDeck. However, you can use ones such as Hootsuite

Step 2: Schedule at least five updates on Twitter

For this project specifically, you were required to include #CAP105GVSU with each one. 

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 1.54.55 AM

VanCoevering, K. (2016). TweetDeck Scheduled Updates [Screen shot]. https://tweetdeck.twitter.com

Step 3: Evaluate

I was excited to get involved with this project, because it was so relevant and related to my life today. Not necessarily directly towards me, but more so indirectly towards the people that I follow. I personally follow many celebrities, from actors, to singers, to musicians, etc. and I do appreciate them keeping me updated on what is going on. For instance, being able to keep up on  upcoming events, breaking news, and new songs is why I follow anyone on any platform, not just twitter. We know that celebrities get busy, so I could imagine why they or their PR team would use this technique to keep their followers interested and aware of them.

However, for me personally I would not use this as much, this is due to the fact that I really don’t have any obligations to anyone to keep them updated. The concept of twitter is selfish in the way that we tweet, we tweet only when we want, and what about. On the other hand, there are people that rely heavily on the idea that this is a platform to satisfy and fulfill other people’s lives that they tweet to to keep us happy, so this is a method to accomplish this for them. I think that for the right audience, this is a tool that if use right can be dangerous and be monopolized into a greater purpose.


Leave a Reply

